ECP declares Laiq Mohammad as winner from PK-41

By Our Correspondent
February 29, 2024
Security personnel stand guard at the headquarters of the Election Commission of Pakistan in Islamabad on September 21, 2023. — AFP

MANSEHRA: The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) on Wednesday declared an independent contestant Laiq Mohammad Khan triumphant in Torghar’s only provincial assembly constituency PK-41.


Comprising Nisar Ahmad Durrani and Babar Hassan Bharwana, the ECP bench set aside the petition moved by the Awami National Party’s losing candidate Zareen Gul and ordered the office concerned to notify Laiq Mohammad Khan’s Victory in the Feb 8 general elections as Returning Officer PK-41 had already issued his form 49.

Jehangir Khan Jadoon appeared and argued in the court on behalf of Zareen Gul while Babar Khan advocate presented Laiq Mohammad Khan after which the bench set aside the petition moved by the former.

The court in its order said detailed reasons to be recorded separately, the instant petition was dismissed with remarks that the petitioner may move the Election Tribunal concerned if so advised. The court ordered the office concerned to notify the returned candidate (Laiq Mohammad Khan) under the law.

Zareen Gul had moved his petition under sections 4,8,9, and 15 of the Election Act 2017 pleading the court to withhold the final results of Laiq Mohammad Khan Khan as he rigged polls at women’s polling stations in the constituency.

The winning candidate in his recent statement said Zareen Gul committed postal ballots fraud in the constituency.

“Zareen Gul included forged postal ballots in the reconsolidation of form 48,” he said.

Laiq Mohammad Khan Khan, who joined the PTI-backed Independents is the younger brother of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf Senator Azam Khan Swati and vied Feb 8 general elections as an independent (not backed by PTI) after Awami National Party withdrew his ticket from him and awarded it to losing candidate Zareen Gul.