NA speaker inaugurates Yadgar-e-Dastur, Bagh-e-Dastur

By Asim Yasin
February 29, 2024
National Assembly Speaker Raja Pervaiz Ashraf presiding over the session of the lower house of Parliament. — PID

ISLAMABAD: National Assembly Speaker Raja Pervez Ashraf has said that Constitution would continue to be a guiding document for generations to come to lead the country on path of development and progress.


“It is constitution which creates strong link between state and people,” expressed these views while inaugurating the Yadgar-e-Dastur (Constitution Monument) and Bagh-e-Dastur in front of parliament lodges here on Wednesday underscoring Pakistan’s unwavering commitment to democracy and steadfast adherence to the principles enshrined in the Constitution of Islamic Republic of Pakistan.

NA speaker also said that this constitution monument would continue to remind about significance and sanctity of constitution. He also said that country’s progress and development is interlinked with adhering to constitution.

Yadgar-e-Dastur and Bagh-e-Dastur are 1st of their kind in constitutional and political history of Pakistan. “Standing tall at the heart of nation, the Yadgar-e-Dastur monument embodies the sanctity of the Constitution of 1973, with its towering plaques bearing the Preamble and fundamental rights,” he said.

The Islamic motif framing the constitution reminds of Article 227, binding that all existing laws shall be brought into conformity with the injunctions of Islam.

As the national flag waves high, symbolizing a constant reminder of every citizen’s solemn duty to uphold loyalty and obedience to the constitution and the law, a fountain nearby represents the balance of power.

Amidst lush greenery, each tree planted in bagh-e-Dastur signifies an article of the constitution, while the parliament, at the center, echoes its pivotal role in governance.

It is pertinent to mention that this initiative is a testament to the visionary leadership of Speaker

Raja Pervez Ashraf, who established the Constitutional Advisory Committee with the goal of commemorating the Golden Jubilee of the Constitution in a befitting manner, on April 10, 2023.

Speaker National Assembly paid rich tribute to all members of The Advisory Committee, Who conceived and approved the design of constitution monument especially to Mian Raza Rabbani, Mohammad Ishaq Dar, Azam Nazir Tarar, Kamran Murtaza, Ms. Marriyum Aurangzeb, Agha Hassan Baloch,

Amir Haider Azam Khan, Dr.Nafisa Shah, Dr. Muhammad Afzal Khan Dhandla, Ms.Wajiha Qamar, Engr. Sabir Hussain Kaim Khani, Khalid Hussain Magsi ,

Ms. Mehnaz Akbar Aziz, Mohsin Dawar, Ms. Asiay Azeem, Ramesh Kumar, Farhatullah Babar, Zafrullah Khan, Syed Shamoon Hashmi.