The double centurions in ODIs

February 18, 2024

Indian batsmen lead the small club, recently joined by Sri Lanka’s Pathum Nissanka

The double centurions in ODIs

Double-century in a Test is a significant thing but a double-hundred in One-Day Internationals (ODIs) is truly a remarkable achievement, a rare feat that signifies extraordinary skill, endurance, and determination on the cricket field. It elevates the batsman to legendary status.

Since the introduction of the T20 format, the One-day Internationals have also become fast-paced and the frequency of double hundreds is increasing with every passing year.

There was no double hundred in 39 years — from 1971 when the first ODI was played between Australia and England till 2010. But 12 double hundreds have been scored since then.

Indian batsmen are far ahead. Out of 12, seven double hundreds have been scored by Indian players. Rohit Sharma has the unique record of scoring three double centuries, in 2013, 2014 and 2017, including the highest ODI individual score of 264. The first four double centuries were all scored by Indian players.

On February 24, 2010, former Indian great Sachin Tendulkar created history when he became the first batsman to score a double century in ODI history.

After Sachin, Virender Sehwag, Rohit Sharma, Chris Gayle, Martin Guptill, Fakhar Zaman, Ishan Kishan, Shubman Gill, Glenn Maxwell and Pathum Nissanka scored double centuries in ODIs.

The most recent double hundred was scored by Sri Lankan batsman Nissanka, in the first ODI against Afghanistan in Pallekele on February 9.

Nissanka became the 10th overall, ninth men’s player, and the first-ever Sri Lankan to score a double hundred in ODIs.

Sachin Tendulkar (India)
– 200 not out in 2010

Sachin Tendulkar scored an unbeaten 200 against South Africa at the Captain Roop Singh Stadium in Gwalior. This innings secured India’s victory by 153 runs.

Virender Sehwag (India)
– 219 in 2011

Master blaster Virender Sehwag followed in the footsteps of Sachin, smashing 219 against the West Indies at the Holkar Cricket Stadium in Indore on December 8, 2011.

Rohit Sharma (India)
– 209 in 2013

On November 2, 2013, Rohit Sharma hit his first double hundred (209) against Australia at the M. Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bangalore.

Rohit Sharma (India)
– 264 in 2014

On November 13, 2014, Rohit’s record knock of 264 against Sri Lanka at Eden Gardens, Kolkata, elevated him to the status of the highest individual scorer in ODIs.

Chris Gayle (West Indies)
– 215 not out in 2015

West Indian master blaster Chris Gayle became the first non-Indian batsman to score a double hundred in ODIs. He scored 215 not out against Zimbabwe on February 24, 2015, at Manuka Oval, Canberra, during the ICC Cricket 2015 World Cup.

Gayle became the first player in Cricket World Cup history to score a double century.

Martin Guptill
(New Zealand) – 237 not out in 2015

In the 2015 World Cup quarter-final against the West Indies, New Zealand’s Martin Guptill hit 237 not out on March 21, 2015, at Westpac Stadium, Wellington. He played a pivotal role in New Zealand’s comprehensive victory by 143 runs that confirmed their semi-finals berth.

Rohit Sharma (India)
– 208 not out in 2017

Rohit Sharma scored his third double century (208 not out) in ODIs against Sri Lanka on December 13, 2017, at Mohali’s Punjab Cricket Association IS Bindra Stadium. Rohit’s innings was adorned with 13 fours and 12 towering sixes. He scored more than half of his unbeaten 208 in the last 10 overs.

Fakhar Zaman (Pakistan)
– 210 not out in 2018

Champions Trophy final hero Pakistan’s opener Fakhar Zaman became the first Pakistani batsman to score a double century in ODIs. He scored 210 against Zimbabwe on July 20, 2018, at Queens Sports Club, Bulawayo. His knock featured 24 fours and 5 sixes.

Fakhar took just 17 ODI innings to reach this feat, surpassing all other double centurions.

It was also the highest List A individual score by a Pakistan player surpassing Abid Ali’s 209* during the 2017/18 Pakistan domestic one-day tournament.

Ishan Kishan (India)
– 210 not out in 2022

On December 10, 2022, India’s Ishan Kishan hit 210 not out against Bangladesh in Chattogram. His explosive display included 24 fours and 10 sixes, propelling India to a formidable total of 409-8.

At one stage, Kishan looked good to surpass Rohit Sharma’s 264 - ODI highest individual score - but Litton Das plucked a catch out of thin air in the 36th over to limit Kishan to 210 off a mere 131 balls.

Interestingly, Kishan was selected in place of injured captain Rohit.

Ishan Kishan became the youngest batsman to score a double hundred — at the age of 24 years and 145 days.

Shubman Gill (India)
– 208 in 2023

India’s young talented top order batsman Shubman Gill with his 208 against New Zealand in Hyderabad on January 18, 2023, became the youngest double centurion in men’s ODIs. At the age of 23, Gill became the youngest double centurion, surpassing Ishan Kishan.

During the innings, Gill completed 1000 runs in ODIs in his 19th innings. He is now the joint-second fastest to the milestone alongside Imam-ul-Haq. Fakhar Zaman is the quickest to the mark, having got there in 18 innings.

Glenn Maxwell (Australia) – 201 in 2023

During the 2023 World Cup, in a thrilling encounter against Afghanistan on November 7, 2023, at Wankhede Stadium, Australian master blaster Glenn Maxwell scripted history with a blistering double century, scoring 201 runs in just 128 balls. Maxwell’s remarkable feat exemplified his extraordinary power-hitting abilities, making him the first Australian to achieve a double century in ODI cricket.

Maxwell was the 11th double-century maker in ODIs - but the first in a chase. The previous highest in the second innings of an ODI was 193, by Fakhar Zaman for Pakistan against South Africa in Johannesburg in April 2021.

Chasing 293, Australia had slipped to 91-7, but Maxwell’s 201 not out, including 21 fours and 10 sixes made it possible for Australia.

Pathum Nissanka (Sri Lanka) – 210 in 2024

Sri Lanka Pathum Nissanka’s 210 came against Afghanistan on February 9 this year at Pallekele Stadium. His remarkable innings included 20 fours and 2 sixes. Nissanka became the third fastest to score a double ton in ODIs. His double hundred came in 136 balls. He surpassed Chris Gayle’s 138 ball’s double century.

The double centurions in ODIs