Thursday September 21, 2023

Lions, Dolphins crowned SA’s domestic champs

March 25, 2020

CAPE TOWN: Lions and Dolphins were crowned champions of the South Africa domestic season 2019-20 with the COVID-19 pandemic leading to the cancellation of the final round.

While Lions won the four-day first-class tournament, Dolphins bagged the 50-over tournament. Lions were on top of the table after eight rounds. Dolphins won their second One-Day Cup in last three years having topped the group where Lions, Warriors and Knights were the other semifinalists.

“This is undoubtedly the fairest way to decide the various winners,” said Graeme Smith, CSA’s interim Director of Cricket on Tuesday (March 24). “In the provincial competitions where some teams have played more games than others, we have taken the average number of points per game to decide on final log positions.

“In the Momentum One-Day Cup it was also important that we put extra weight on the performances of the teams that earned home ground advantage for the knock-out stage.”In women’s cricket, Western Province won the T20 League while North West were the 50-over tournament champions.