Pakistan election 2024 live updates

  • Nawaz Sharif approves nominations for PM, speaker slots
  • MPAs-elect of Balochistan Assembly take oath of office
  • Caretaker info minister reviews arrangements for inaugural session of NA
  • 'MQM-P only getting 1 ministry for joining govt'
  • Thursday Feb 29 2024 | 07:38 PM

    PTI MNA claims next govt's survival depends on US backing

    By: Web Desk

    Shandana Gulzar Khan, Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf’s (PTI) newly elected lawmaker in the National Assembly, claimed that the next government would function only "if the United States permits it".

    The PTI leader, who won the NA-30 Peshawar-III seat in the general elections 2024, promised that her party lawmakers would not disturb the businesses of parliament as they are responsible for taking care of the country’s interests.

    The woman lawmaker also claimed that she had never disclosed the names of those "local individuals" who offered her bribes and ministries. She added that she did not expose such individuals as a responsible NA lawmaker who is bound to the Official Secret Act.

    She also said that all national institutions are respectable but India and Israel want to destabilise them.

  • Thursday Feb 29 2024 | 06:56 PM

    'MQM-Pakistan demands four ministries in Centre'

    By: Waqar Satti

    The Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) has offered only one ministry to the Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan (MQM-P), sources told Geo News.

    However, MQM-P has demanded four ministries, including the post of governor of Sindh, in return for supporting the allies in the Centre.

    The MQM-P has agreed to vote for PML-N President Shehbaz Sharif in the prime minister election and Ayaz Sadiq in the National Assembly speaker election.

    However, the Karachi-based party is not willing to support the party in the president and Senate chairman election. 

  • Thursday Feb 29 2024 | 06:47 PM

    JI chief calls for establishing inquiry commission to probe alleged rigging in polls

    By: Web Desk

    Jamat-e-Islami (JI) chief Siraj-ul-Haq has lamented that people's mandate is not respected and added that the candidates for the post of prime minister were "selected" even before the elections.

    He also criticised the Election Commission, saying it failed to explain the significant discrepancies between Form 45 and 47, raising doubts about the transparency of the electoral process.

    He claimed that JI faced injustices, and results were manipulated in six constituencies and proposed the establishment of an independent commission of inquiry to address the alleged irregularities in the February 8 polls. 

  • Thursday Feb 29 2024 | 05:52 PM

    PTI open to poll results’ scrutiny of all KP constituencies: Shoaib Shaheen

    By: Web Desk

    Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) leader Muhammad Shoaib Shaheen said that his party was open to accepting scrutiny demand of the 2024 poll results of all Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (KP) in which its candidates grabbed victory.

    Shaheen, speaking to journalists outside Adiala Jail after meeting the incarcerated party founder, said that he discussed the post-election situation with Imran Khan. He alleged that the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) and the Election Commission of Pakistan collaborated to rig the February 8 nationwide elections.

    The leader announced challenging the "rigged" poll results in the Supreme Court with "evidence". The politico demanded the top officers of the poll organising body to resign over failure to hold transparent elections.

  • Thursday Feb 29 2024 | 04:52 PM

    PM election will take place on March 3

    By: Web Desk

    The election for prime minister will take place on March 3, according to a schedule issued by the National Assembly Secretariat on Thursday.

    The nomination papers can be submitted till 2pm on March 2 while the scrutiny of the nomination papers will take place till 3pm, according to the NA statement.

  • Thursday Feb 29 2024 | 03:34 PM

    PPP seeks senate elections on vacant seats

    By: Web Desk

    PPP leader Taj Haider has penned a letter to ECP chief CEC Sikander Sultan Raja seeking election on the vacant senate seats.

    In his letter, the PPP leader has called on the electoral body to conduct polls on 11 senate seats as various lawmakers of the upper house have resigned and have taken oath as members of the National Assembly today.

    So far the senators who have submitted their resignations include Yousuf Raza Gillani, Sarfraz Bugti, Sadiq Sanjrani and others.

  • Thursday Feb 29 2024 | 02:45 PM

    Babar Saleem Swati takes oath as KP Assembly speaker

    By: Rasool Dawar

    PESHAWAR: PTI-backed Babar Saleem Swati has taken oath as KP Assembly speaker after he secured 89 votes against the PPP's Ehsan Ullah Khan's 17 votes.

    Former speaker Mushtaq Ghani administered the oath of the new custodian of the house.

    In the deputy speaker's election held after this, PTI backed Suriya Bibi secured the seat slot 87 votes.

  • Thursday Feb 29 2024 | 12:40 PM

    PML-N leadership signs role of member register

    By: Web Desk

  • Thursday Feb 29 2024 | 12:32 PM

    NA secretary recieves nomination papers for speaker, deputy speaker posts

    By: Web Desk

    PML-N leader Ayaz Sadiq has submitted his nomination papers for the post of National Assembly speaker.

    Meanwhile, PPP's Ghulam Mustafa Shah has filed his nomination papers for the slot of lower house's deputy speaker.

    Meanwhile, the NA secretary received the leaders' nomination papers on the floor of the house.

  • Thursday Feb 29 2024 | 12:22 PM

    Bilawal Bhutto, Asif Ali Zardari sign 'role of member register'

    By: Web Desk