Can't connect right now! retry

add The News to homescreen

tap to bring up your browser menu and select 'Add to homescreen' to pin the The News web app

Got it!

add The News to homescreen

tap to bring up your browser menu and select 'Add to homescreen' to pin the The News web app

Got it!
February 19, 2008

Candidates contesting from strongholds retain seats in Balochistan

February 19, 2008

QUETTA: The results of the national and provincial assemblies in Balochistan reflect that the candidates who contested the polls from their strongholds have retained their seats.

According to unofficial results announced here on Monday, former chief minister Jam Muhammad Yusuf, who is also the PML-Q Balochistan president, won both seats -- the NA-270 Awaran-cum-Lasbela and PB-44 Lasbela-I, defeating his rival candidate backed by the PPPP. It was one-to-one contest on both the NA and PA seats between Jam Muhammad Yusuf and Nasrullah Ronjha.

Former deputy speaker Balochistan Assembly, Muhammad Aslam Bhotani, former finance minister and BNP-Awamiís candidate, Syed Ehsan Shah and former provincial minister Sheikh Jafar Khan Mandokhel were also among those who won their respective PA seats.

Bhotani defeated PPPP's Abdul Karim Lasi on PB-45, Lasbela-II, while Sheikh Jafar was in the run on PB-19, Zhob. Shafiq Ahmad Khan of the PPPP retained the provincial assembly seat after winning the election from Quetta-1, PB-I with thumping lead, according to the unofficial results announced by the Election Commission on Monday night. Shafiq secured 6,169 votes defeating the PML-Q candidate Naseem-ur-Rahman, who secured 3,559 votes and the PML-N's Naseebullah Bazai got 1,306 votes, while the MMA's Muhammad Din could get 452 votes. An independent candidate, Zahid Yusuf, who was among the 12 contestants, could secure only five votes in the constituency.

It may be mentioned here that the turnout in the constituency was 19.17 per cent, as a total of 12,511 votes out of 65,238 were polled. On PB-22, Awami National Party's candidate Sultan Muhammad Tareen won, securing maximum 3,460 votes. Sardar Asad Khan Tareen of the PML-Q was the loser. He got 2,898 votes.

According to unofficial results, Mir Bakhtiar Khan Domki, an independent candidate, remained successful from PB-21, Sibi. He secured 11,919 votes while his opponent Fateh Khan of the PML-Q

remained the runner-up with 5,994 votes.

From PB-25, another independent candidate, Rustam Khan Jamali secured 17,000 votes to win the seat while his closest opponent was PPPP's Ataullah Buledi, who secured 12,000 votes. Similarly, on PB-28, Naseerabad-I, PPPP's candidate, Mir Sadiq Umrani was the winner with 9,400 votes. His opponent Majid Abro secured 3,680 votes.

On PB-37, Kalat-II, BNP-Awamiís Zafarullah secured 5,048 votes to win the seat while his opponent Mir Maqbool Ahmad got 1,633 votes to finish second. According to sources, an independent candidate, Zahoor Ahmad won on PB-49, Kech-II secured 7,503 votes while his closest opponent Ghulam Jan, a PML-Q candidate, stood second. He got 2,998 votes.

On PB-51, Gwadar, PML-Q's candidate, Mir Hamal Kalmati secured 15,429 votes to win the seat while an independent candidate, Ashraf secured 7,636 votes to remain second in the election run. On PB-5, Quetta-V, the PPPP's Ali Madad Jatak secured 3,674 votes to win the seat.

Topstory minus plus

Opinion minus plus

Newspost minus plus

Editorial minus plus

National minus plus

World minus plus

Sports minus plus

Business minus plus

Karachi minus plus

Lahore minus plus

Islamabad minus plus

Peshawar minus plus