Can't connect right now! retry

add The News to homescreen

tap to bring up your browser menu and select 'Add to homescreen' to pin the The News web app

Got it!

add The News to homescreen

tap to bring up your browser menu and select 'Add to homescreen' to pin the The News web app

Got it!
May 29, 2013

PTI wins 10, JUI-F, PML-N 3 seats each in KP PA


May 29, 2013

PESHAWAR: Being the largest political party in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly, the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) on Wednesday won 10 seats reserved for women in the provincial legislature followed by Jamiat Ulema Islam-Fazl and Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz getting three each in the 124-member House.
The Election Commission of Pakistan issued notification of 22 women and three non-Muslims elected on the reserved seats.The PTI with 44 members in the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly had given a priority list of its 23 nominees to the provincial election commission before the polls. Its 10 candidates at the top of list were elected to the provincial assembly.
They include Naseem Hayat, Dr Mehr Taj Roghani, Nadia Sher Khan, Ayesha Naeem, Maleeha Tanveer, Zarin Riaz, Nargis Ali, Nagina Khan, Dina Naz and Bibi Fauzia.The PTI won 17 seats of the National Assembly from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa. For the eight reserved seats for women in the National Assembly, it was thus able to get four of its nominees elected as MNAs. They are Nafees Inayatullah, Musarrat Ahmadzeb hailing from the former ruling Wali of Swat family, Sajida Zulfiqar and Ayesha Gulalai. The last-named was earlier in the PPP and had joined the PTI some months ago. She is the sister of Pakistan’s women squash champion, Maria Torpakai.
The JUI-F secured 13 provincial assembly seats in the general election on May 11 and according to proportional representation three of its women candidates were elected MPAs on the reserved seats. They are Naeema Akhtar, Farhana Binori and Uzma Khan.
Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz secured 12 seats in the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly in the general polls and an independent MPA later joined the party. According to the list submitted by the PML-N to the Election Commission, its three candidates Amna Sardar, Ruqayya Hina and Sobia Khan were elected on women reserved seats. Also, Tahira Bukhari got elected to the National Assembly on the PML-N ticket.
The Jamaat-e-Islami and the

Qaumi Watan Party (QWP) secured seven seats each in the provincial assembly but later an independent MPA, Gohar Nawaz Khan, joined the latter, raising its strength to eight. Central general secretary of QWP and former senator Anisazeb Tahirkheli and Meraj Humayun were elected to the provincial assembly on women reserved seats.
The Jamaat-e-Islami managed to elect Ayesha Syed to the National Assembly on the reserved seats. Two of its nominees including Rashida Zafar were elected to Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly.
Yasmin Pir Mohammad Khan of the ANP was elected for the third time as member of the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly. The PPP got one woman reserved seat and it went to Nighat Orakzai, who was an MPA on the PML-Q ticket in the previous assembly.
The Swabi-based Awami Jamhoori Ittehad Pakistan, having four MPAs, had nominated Khatoon Bibi for the women reserved seats in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly and she was elected as MPA.
Minority candidates Askar Pervez of the PTI, Filex Innocent of JUI-F and Fredrick Aziz Ghori of the PML-N got elected to the provincial assembly on the three seats reserved for the non-Muslims.

Topstory minus plus

Opinion minus plus

Newspost minus plus

Editorial minus plus

National minus plus

World minus plus

Sports minus plus

Business minus plus

Karachi minus plus

Lahore minus plus

Islamabad minus plus

Peshawar minus plus