Can't connect right now! retry

add The News to homescreen

tap to bring up your browser menu and select 'Add to homescreen' to pin the The News web app

Got it!

add The News to homescreen

tap to bring up your browser menu and select 'Add to homescreen' to pin the The News web app

Got it!
May 25, 2013

PTI candidates remain runners up in Karachi’s 15 constituencies


May 25, 2013

After re-polling, PTI’s Dr Arif Alvi won Karachi’s NA-250, while the party candidates remained runners up in 15 other NA constituencies. The port city has been MQM’s stronghold and this has been reflected in 2013 polls too when it won 16 NA seats.
Pakistan People’s Party Parliamentarians (PPPP) could pocket one NA seat from Karachi, as its candidate Shahjahan Baloch returned from NA-248 by bagging 84530 votes. Even from this constituency, Imran Khan’s party candidate Subhan Ali was runner up with 26348 votes while MQM’s Nabeel Ahmad Gabol could bag only 6489 votes.
MQM’s Muhammad Salman Baloch won NA-239 by bagging 39251 votes while PTI’s Suban Ali got 34408 votes and PPPP’s ex-MNA Abdul Qadir Patel secured 27814 votes. Sohail Mansoor of MQM returned from NA-240 with 87805 votes while female candidate of PTI Naz Baloch got 21096 votes and PPPP’s Abid Hussain got 19360 votes.
Again NA-241 went to MQM’s Syed Akhtar Iqbal by bagging 95584 votes, followed yet again by PTI’s Dr. Saeed Afridi with 27827 votes and PPPP’s Ali Ahmad got just 3361 votes. The result was no different in NA-242, from where MQM’s Mehboob Alam got 166836 votes, while PTI’s Akram Khan received 10889 votes and PPPP’s Bari Khan got 2277 votes. From NA-243, MQM’s Abdul Waseem received record 192638, Zahid Hashmi of PTI 29875 votes while PPPP’s Syed Sohail Abbas got 5831 votes. Again, NA-244 went to MQM’s Shaikh Salahuddin, who pocketed 133885 votes, followed by again PTI’s Khalid Masood with 26495 votes and Muhammad Tahir of PPP got paltry 1390 votes.
Muhammad Rehman Hashmi of MQM returned from NA-245 by bagging 115776 votes, followed by PTI’s Muhammad Riaz Haider, who got 54937 votes and PPPP’s Sardar Khan received 2432 votes. From NA-246, MQM’s Nabeel Ahmad Gabol got 137874 votes while PTI’s Amir Sharjeel pocketed 31875 votes and PPPP’s Shahzad Majeed got 1716 votes. From NA-247, Sufyan Yousaf got elected by receiving

126263 votes, followed by PTI’s Rashid Siddiqi, who received 35349 votes and PPPP’s Asghar Lal got 3326 votes. In NA-249, MQM’s Dr. Farooq Sattar pocketed 109952 votes while PTI did not field candidate from this constituency.
PTI won NA-250 when its candidate Dr. Arif Alvi got 77659 votes while MQM’s Khushbakht Shujaat despite her party’s boycott of the re-polling received 30365 votes. While Ali Raza Abidi of MQM got 81603 votes in NA-251, whereas Raja Asghar of PTI received 40388 votes and PPPP’s Zulfiqar Ali got 6637 votes. MQM’s Abdul Rashid Godil returned from NA-252 by bagging 91339 votes, followed by PTI’s Ali Haider, who got 49622 votes and PPP’s Syed Asghar Hussain received 6637 votes. Muhammad Muzammil got elected from NA-253 when he pocketed 101386 votes, PTI’s Muhammad Ashrif Jabbar was runner up with 61913 votes while PPPP’s Murad Baloch received 10127 votes.
While the poll process has been terminated in NA-254, NA-255 also went to MQM, when its candidate Syed Asif Hasnain received 136982 votes, PTI’s Khalid Mehmood got 19033 votes and PPPP’s Jawaid Shaikh pocketed 3378 votes. MQM’s Iqbal Muhammad Ali returned from NA-256 by bagging 151788 votes, his closest rival was again PTI’s Muhammad Zubair, who got 69072 votes and PPPP’s Syed Manzoor got 4347 votes. From NA-257, Sajid Ahmad of MQM got elected by bagging 125405 while PTI did not field candidate in this constituency. MQM also won two Hyderabad seats of the National Assembly, where PTI could not put forward its candidates.

Topstory minus plus

Opinion minus plus

Newspost minus plus

Editorial minus plus

National minus plus

World minus plus

Sports minus plus

Business minus plus

Karachi minus plus

Lahore minus plus

Islamabad minus plus

Peshawar minus plus