Can't connect right now! retry

add The News to homescreen

tap to bring up your browser menu and select 'Add to homescreen' to pin the The News web app

Got it!

add The News to homescreen

tap to bring up your browser menu and select 'Add to homescreen' to pin the The News web app

Got it!

November 9, 2012

Six Pakistani PMs, two presidents won the rigged 1990 polls

November 9, 2012


LAHORE: The 1990 general elections, now declared manipulated and rigged by the Supreme Court, had seen at least six former Pakistani premiers (including caretaker prime ministers) and two presidents getting elected to the National Assembly.
While many famous political figures had emerged triumphant in these ‘engineered’ polls, a good number of them had lost the ballot exercise held 22 years and 15 days ago on October 24, 1990. The winning premiers included the likes of Benazir Bhutto, Nawaz Sharif, Muhammad Khan Junejo, Syed Yousaf Raza Gilani, Mir Balakh Sher Mazari and Ghulam Mustafa Jatoi.
Another former caretaker Premier, Malik Meraj Khalid, had lost the ballot though.Moreover, two Pakistani Presidents—Messrs Asif Ali Zardari and the late Farooq Leghari— had also managed to trounce their political adversaries in these polls to find seats in the lower house of the parliament.
Syed Abida Hussain, also alleged to have taken money from the manipulators of the 1990 polls, had lost her seat, while her husband Fakhar Imam had managed to secure it.Mian Zahid Sarfraz, who had once publicly leveled serious allegations against Nawaz Sharif, had won his seat on IJI’s ticket.
Now lost into oblivion, Ghulam Mustafa Khar had won two seats.Meanwhile, Messrs Sheikh Rasheed Ahmed, Ijaz-ul-Haq, Chaudhry Shujaat Hussain, Javed Hashmi and Humayun Akhtar Khan etc had also contested successfully on IJI ticket, but times that followed saw them changing loyalties.
Once dubbed Nawaz Sharif’s men, a majority of these gentlemen moved to General Musharraf’s camp when Sharif was in hot water and Javed Hashmi has now become Imran Khan’s confidant.
There are many more famous turncoats in the lists given below.Benazir Bhutto had lost one seat in these polls to Ghulam Ahmed Bilour in Peshawar.Messrs Aftab Sherpao, late Abdul Wali Khan (NA-5), late Omar Asghar Khan, Maulana Fazal ur Rehman and Air Marshal (R) Asghar Khan had also failed to win trust of

Sardar Aseff Ahmad Ali had won as an independent candidate. Late Nawabzada Nasrullah Khan and Dr. Sher Afghan Khan Niazi were also among the profound losers.
Here follows the list of famous winners of the 1990 polls with constituency numbers in brackets:
Famous winners:
Ghulam Ahmed Bilour (NA-1), Arbab Jehangir Khan (NA-2), Ajmal Khan Khattak (NA-4), Mir Afzal Khan (NA-7), Syed Iftikhar Hussain Gillani (NA-9), Sardar Mehtab Ahmed Abbasi (NA-11), Gohar Ayub Khan (NA-13), Fazal Karim Khan Kundi (NA-18), Prince Mohiuddin (NA-24), Haji Nawaz Khokhar (NA-35), Shahid Khaqan Abbasi (NA-36), Nawaz Sharif (NA-48, NA-95 and NA-96 Lahore), Sheikh Rasheed Ahmed (NA-38 Rawalpindi), Muhammad Ijaz-ul-Haq (NA-39 and NA-72), Chaudhry Nisar Ali Khan (NA-40 Rawalpindi), Lt. Gen (Retd) Malik Abdul Majid (NA-43), Ch. Altaf Hussain (NA-45), Ehsan-ul-Haq Piracha (NA-47), Anwar Ali Cheema (NA-50), Malik Naeem Khan (NA-51), Maulana Abdul Sattar Niazi (NA-53), Haji Gul Hamid Rokhari (NA-54), Ch. Nazir Ahmed (NA-61), Muhammad Khan Junejo (NA-62), Mian Zahid Sarfraz (NA-64), Ch. Sher Ali (NA-65), Makhdoom Faisal Saleh Hayat (NA-69), Sahibzada Nazir Sultan (NA-70), Ch. Hamid Nasir Chatha (NA-74), Ghulam Dastgir Khan (NA-76), Rana Nazir Ahmed Khan (NA-78), Ch. Tajumul Hussain (NA-80), Chaudhry Shujaat Hussain (NA-81), Ch. Amir Hussain (NA-86), Hamayun Akhtar Khan (NA-92), Aitzaz Ahsan (NA-93), Liaqat Baloch (NA-97), Muhammad Ahshiq Dayyal (NA-100), Rana Tanveer Hussain (NA-101), Birjees Tahir (NA-103), Rai Mansab Ali Khan (NA-105), Sardar Aseff Ahmad Ali (NA-106), Yaseen Wattoo (NA-13), Syed Yousaf Raza Gilani (NA-114), Syed Hamid Saeed Kazmi (NA-115), Siddique Khan Kanjo (NA-118), Makhdoom Javed Hashmi (NA-120), Syed Fakhar Imam (NA-121), Ghulam Haider Wyne (NA-123), Mehar Ghulam Farid Kathia (NA-125), Mrs Shehnaz Javed (NA-126), Akbar Ali Bhatti (NA-130), Sardar Farooq Leghari (NA-132 and NA-133), Mir Balakh Sher Mazari (NA-134), Ghulam Mustafa Khar (NA-137 and NA-138), Prince Salahud Din (NA-141), Syed Tasneem Nawaz Gardezi (NA-143), Abdul Sattar Laleka (NA-145), Ch. Abdul Ghafoor (NA-146), Makhdoom Syed Ahmed Alam Anwar (NA-147), Makhdoom Shahabuddin (NA-148), Makhdoom Ahmed Mehmud (NA-150), Khursheed Shah (NA-151), Noor Khan Lund (NA-153), Aftab Shahban Mirani (NA-154), Illahi Bukhsh Soomro (NA-156), Mir Hazar Khan Bijrani (NA-157), Ghulam Mustafa Jatoi (NA-158), Syed Zafar Ali Shah of PPP (NA-159), Ghulam Murtaza Jatoi (NA-160), Pir Syed Abdul Qadir Jillani (NA-163), Begum Nusrat Bhutto (NA-164), Shabbir Ahmed Chandio (NA-165), Benazir Bhutto (NA-166), Makhdoom Amin Faheem (NA-167), Syed Naveed Qamar (NA-170), Abdullah Halepoto (NA-172), Anis Ahmed Khan of MQM (NA-174), Muhammad Khan Junejo (NA-175), Dr. Arbab Ghulam Rahim (NA-176), Syed Ali Gohar Shah (NA-180), Jam Mashooq Ali (NA-181), Kunwar Khalid Younus (NA-186), Dr. Imran Farooq (NA-187), Asif Ali Zardari (NA-189), Dr. Farooq Sattar (NA-190), Wasim Ahmed (NA-196), Mehmood Khan Achakzai (NA-198), Sardar Yaqub Khan Nasir (NA-1990), Yar Muhammad Rind (NA-201), Saleem Akbar Bugti (NA-202), Mir Hasil Bizenjo (NA-205), Jam Yousaf (NA-206) and Mir Bizan Bizanjo (NA-207) etc.
Famous losers:
Benazir Bhutto (NA-1), Aftab Sherpao (NA-2), Abdul Wali Khan (NA-5), Omar Asghar Khan (NA-13), Maulana Fazal ur Rehman (NA-18), Raja Shahid Zafar (NA-39), Dr. Ghulam Hussain (NA-46), Dr. Sher Afghan Khan Niazi (NA-53 and NA-54), Rashid Akbar Nawani (NA-56), Syed Asad Hayat Shah (NA-67), Syed Abida Hussain (NA-69), Mehr Akhtar Abbas Bharwana (NA-70), Qazi Ghias-ud-Din Janbaz (NA-72), Ghulam Sarwar Cheema (NA-74), Nawabzada Ghazanfar Gul (NA-80), Chaudhry Ahmed Mukhtar (NA-81), late Rafiq Ahmad Sheikh (NA-92), Air Marshal (R) Asghar Khan (NA-95), Jehangir Badar (NA-96), Khawaja Tariq Rahim (NA-97), Malik Meraj Khalid (NA-100), Nisar Ahmad Punnu (NA-101), Sardar Talib Hassan Nakai (NA-108), Rao Sikandar Iqbal (NA-110), Mian Atta Maneka (NA-113), Makhdoom Hamid Raza Gilani (NA-114), Malik Mukhtar Awan (NA-116), Late Maulana Shah Ahmad Noorani (NA-116), Rana Shaukat Hayat (NA-119), Pir Muhammad Aslam Bodla (NA-123), Nourez Shakoor (NA-124), Arshad Lodhi (NA-125), Tikka Iqbal (NA-127), Sardar Nasrullah Khan Daraishak (NA-134), Nawabzada Nasrullah Khan (NA-136) and Ghulam Noor Rabbani Khar etc.