Zahir elected KP Hockey Association president

May 05,2018

Share Next Story >>>

ISLAMABAD: Zahir Shah takes over as the new president of Khyber Pakhtunkhawa (KP) Hockey Association in elections held in Peshawar on Friday.

The elections that were monitored by Pakistan Hockey Federation (PHF) and KP Sports Board and KP Olympic Association representatives saw Zahir getting elected unanimously. Votes were cast by 13 districts.

Saeed Khan retained his position as the chairman. Haji Hidayatullah was elected as secretary. Talking to ‘The News’, Zahir promised to uphold the traditions of KP hockey and retain its image as the busiest and most effective provincial body. “We served the game of hockey at a time when it fell victim to growing interest of youth in cricket. Still we managed to attract good number of hockey players for our junior and senior strings. I believe that with a bit of extra hard work and government interest we would be in a position to engender renaissance of the game not only in KP but the entire country,” he added.

The provincial elections were conducted after the completion of district hockey association elections.Maj (rtd) Afzal of PHF acted as the election commissioner. The observers were Azizullah Khan of KP Sports Board, Kifayatullah Oragzai of KP Olympic Association and Amjad Khan of KP Badminton Association.

Other office bearers are Malik Wadan (SVP), Wazirzada, Haq Nawaz (VP), Manzoor Ahmad (Joint Secretary), Abdullah (Finance secretary).Executive body: Mohammad Yousaf, Shaheen Yousafzai, Dr Liaqat, Shoaib Jahangir, Haji Nawaz and Sajjad Ali.


More From Sports