T20 World Cup 2024: Suryakumar, Dube lead India to win over US

After Rohit-Virat's early departure, Suryakumar and Dube take charge to lead India to victory stand

By Sports Desk
June 12, 2024
Suryakumar Yadav of India plays a shot during the T20 Cricket World Cup 2024 match, USA vs India, Nassau County International Cricket Stadium, New York, June 12, 2024. — AFP

United States faced a 7-wicket defeat against India which weakened their chances to enter Super Eights' phase of the T20 World Cup after today's match played at Nassau County International Cricket Stadium, New York, on Wednesday.

India became the third team after South Africa and Australia to qualify for the next round.


Earlier, India put the USA into bat first and restricted them to 110/8. Pacer Arshdeep Singh was the best bowler for India, securing figures of 4/9 - the best-ever by an Indian in the history of the competition.

He dismissed Shayan Jahangir, Andries Gous, Nitish Kumar and Harmeet Singh

Nitish was the only batter for the USA, scoring 27 off 23 balls. Opener Steven Taylor chipped in with 24 (30).

Apart from Arshdeep, Hardik Pandya secured 2/14 while Axar Patel bagged figures of 1/25.

In chase, India were on the back foot at the start of the chase with pacer Saurabh Netravalkar dismissing Virat Kohli (0) and Rohit Sharma (3) in the powerplay.

Rishabh Pant and Suryakumar Yadav recover but Ali Khan clean bowled Pant (18) to put more pressure on India.

But a brilliant partnership from Yadav and Shivam Dube led India to the end of the chase. Yadav remained not out on 49-ball 50 while Dube made 31 off 35 balls. They completed the chase in 18.2 overs.


USA: Steven Taylor, Shayan Jahangir, Andries Gous, Nitish Kumar, Aaron Jones (c), Corey Anderson, Harmeet Singh, Shadley van Schalkwyk, 9 Jasdeep Singh, Saurabh Netravalkar, Ali Khan

India XI: Rohit Sharma (c), Virat Kohli, Rishabh Pant (wk), Suryakumar Yadav, Shivam Dube, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, Arshdeep Singh