JCP meets on June 7 to appoint 3 SC judges

Chaired by the CJP, the meeting would be attended JCP members

By Our Correspondent
May 21, 2024
A general view of Pakistan's Supreme Court in Islamabad on April 6, 2022. — AFP

ISLAMABAD: Chief Justice of Pakistan (CJP Qazi Faez Isa has convened the meeting of Judicial Commission of Pakistan (JCP) on June 7 for deliberations over the appointment of three judges in the Supreme Court.


The JCP has been constituted under the 18th Constitutional Amendment mandated to appoint judges in the superior judiciary. The JCP would consider names of nine judges, including Lahore High Court Chief Justice Shahzad Ahmed and Sindh High Court Chief Justice Aqeel Abassi, for filling the three vacant posts in the Supreme Court.

Chaired by the CJP, the meeting would be attended JCP members -- Justice Syed Mansoor Ali Shah, Justice Munib Akhtar, Justice Yahaya Afridi, Justice Amin-ud-Din Khan, Justice (retd) Manzoor Ahmed Malik, Federal Minister for Law Azam Nazir Tarar, Attorney General Mansoor Usman Awan and Pakistan Bar Council representative advocate Akhtar Hussain.

As per the Constitution, the actual strength of judges of the Supreme Court is 17 while at present the apex court has only 14 judges including the CJP. The three posts are to be filled after the retirement of Justice Umar Ata Bandial and resignations of Justice Ijazul Ahsen and Justice Syed Mazahar Ali Akbar Naqvi.