Pakistan captain Nida Dar emerges as leading wicket-taker in Women’s T20Is

Dar surpasses Australia's Megan Schutt who has 136 wickets to her name

By Web Desk
May 18, 2024
Skipper of Pakistan women's team Nida Dar in the image posted on social media on April 21, 2024. —Facebook/ Pakistan Cricket Team

Pakistan women team’s skipper Nida Dar has become the highest number of wicket-taking bowler in T20 Internationals by bagging her 137th wicket in the second match against England in Northampton.

With this record, Dar has outdone Australia's Megan Schutt, who has 136 wickets to her name. The Pakistani captain achieved the feat during her 141st innings, wherein she took two scalps.


There's only one other Pakistani in the list of 20 leading wicket-takers in women's T20I, Sana Mir, who sits at number 19 with 89 wickets in 105 innings.

Most wickets in women's T20Is

Nida Dar — 137 (Pakistan)

Megan Schutt — 136 (Australia)

Ellyse Perry — 126 (Australia)

Anisa Mohammed — 125 (West Indies)

Shabnim Ismail — 123 (South Africa)

In the second T20Is, England defeated Pakistan to win the three-match series by 2-0.

After deciding to bat first, the hosts scored 144-6 thanks to the efforts of Maia Bouchier (30), Alice Capsey (31), and Nat Sciver-Brunt (31).

Nida spearheaded Pakistan's bowling squad with 2/33 in her four overs, while Waheeda Akhtar, Diana Baig, and Fatima Sana took one wicket apiece.

While chasing, Pakistan were sent packing for 79 in 15.5 overs, 65 runs short of their target. England spinners wreaked havoc on Pakistani battling line as Sophie Ecclestone claimed three wickets for 11 runs Capsey two for four and Sarah Glenn two for 10.

Capsey was declared player of the match for her performance with the bat and bowl.

Leeds will host the dead rubber final on May 19.

Playing XIs

Pakistan: Gull Feroza, Sidra Ameen, Sadaf Shamas, Muneeba Ali (wk), Nida Dar (c), Aliya Riaz, Fatima Sana, Diana Baig, Waheeda Akhtar, Nashra Sandhu, Sadia Iqbal

England: Maia Bouchier, Danielle Wyatt, Alice Capsey, Nat Sciver-Brunt, Heather Knight (c), Amy Jones (wk), Danielle Gibson, Sophie Ecclestone, Charlie Dean, Sarah Glenn, Lauren Bell