T20 World Cup 2024: Has PCB finalised Pakistan squad?

Hasan Ali, Salman Ali Agha and Irfan Khan to travel with the team as reserves

By Web Desk
May 17, 2024
Pakistan players celebrate after their 2022 ICC Twenty20 World Cup cricket tournament match between Pakistan and South Africa at the Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) on Thursday. — AFP

KARACHI: The PakistanCricket Board (PCB) has finalised the Green Shirts' squad for the upcomingT20 World Cup 2024 set to take place in June, Geo News reported Friday citing sources.

Skipper Babar Azam will lead the 15-member squad which includes fivefast bowlers,four all-rounders,three wicket keepers, two batsmen and a spinner, said the sources.


The sources said that pacerHaris Rauf is also a part of the squad as he has recovered frominjury. Meanwhile, Hasan Ali, Salman Ali Agha and Irfan Khan will travel with the team as reserves.

Pakistan's likely squad for T20 World Cup

Babar Azam (c), Fakhar Zaman, Mohammad Rizwan, Usman Khan, Azam Khan, Imad Wasim, Shadab Khan, Saim Ayub, Iftikhar Ahmed, Abrar Ahmed, Shaheen Afridi, Mohammad Amir, Naseem Shah, Abbas Afridi and Haris Rauf.

Reserves: Salman Ali Agha, Hasan Ali and Irfan Khan.

The PCB will officially announce the squad after the first match of the T20I series against England on May 22 as the International Cricket Council (ICC) has set May 25 as the deadline for announcing a 15-member World Cup squad.

Pakistan are in Group A of the World Cup alongside arch-rivals India, Ireland, Canada and the USA.

The national side will play their first World Cup match on June 6 against the USA in Dallas. While, the most anticipated clash of titans between Pakistan and India will take place on June 9 (Sunday) in New York.

Pakistan's T20 World Cup 2024 schedule

June 6: Pakistan vs USA, Dallas

June 9: Pakistan vs India, New York

June 11: Pakistan vs Canada, New York

June 16: Pakistan vs Ireland, Lauderhill

Groups for T20 World Cup 2024

Group A: India, Pakistan, Ireland, Canada, United States

Group B: England, Australia, Namibia, Scotland, Oman

Group C: New Zealand, West Indies, Afghanistan, Uganda, Papua New Guinea

Group D: South Africa, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Netherlands, Nepal