PML-N leads by-polls held on 21 NA, PA seats

PTI President Pervaiz Elahi suffers defeat; PPP win NA seat in Kamber Shahdadtkot

By Web Desk
April 21, 2024

Election officials count ballots papers after polls closed at a polling station in Karachi on July 25, 2018. — AFP

The Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) is leading the by-polls on 21 national and provincial seats, preliminary and unofficial results showed on Sunday.


As per the unofficial and preliminary results of the 21 national and provincial seats, PML-N succeeded in securing 4 out of 12 seats from Punjab, once a stronghold of the ruling party so far.

The Sharif-led party also won PA seat from Balochistan and one NA seat from Lahore.

Istehkam-e-Pakistan Party (IPP) secured one PA seat from Lahore. The Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP), however, won a NA seat from Kamber Shahdadtkot.

Following the swearing-in of the new assemblies, Pakistan's first by-elections on 21 vacant national and provincial assembly seats were held amid sporadic incidents of clashes between workers of different political parties in Punjab.

Major political parties including PML-N, Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI)-backed Sunni Ittehad Council and PPP participated in the by-polls.

The voting on the by-polls, conducted after the February 8 general elections, started at 8am and concluded at 5pm today.

During the polling process, the federal government suspended mobile phone services temporarily in several districts of Punjab and Balochistan in a decision that was taken to safeguard the integrity and security of the electoral process.

Meanwhile, at the request of the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP), the government also deployed Pakistan Army and Civil Armed Forces (CAF) troops during the polling process.

Several workers of the PML-N and SIC clashed in several constituencies, leading to death of one PML-N worker, Muhammad Yousaf in Narowal.

Police said that the PML-N worker was taken to hospital where he succumbed to injuries, adding that the polling was stopped in this constituency.

The elections were held on five NA seats, 12 Punjab Assembly seats, two each in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa and Balochistan Assemblies and one in Sindh Assembly.

The NA seats include NA-8 and NA-44 (KP) NA-119 and NA-132 (Punjab) and NA-196 (Sindh).

The provincial assembly seats include PK-22 and PK-91 (KP), PB-20 and PB-22 (Balochistan) and PS-80 (Sindh). The Punjab Assembly seats where the by-polls are taking place include PP-32 (Gujrat), PP-36 (Wazirabad), PP-54 (Narowal), PP-93 (Bhakkar), PP-139 (Sheikhupura), PP-147, PP-149, PP-158, PP-164 (Lahore), PP-266 (Rahim Yar Khan) and PP-290 (Dera Ghazi Khan).

Preliminary, unofficial live results are available below

Note: Refresh the page for the latest results as the page does not reload automatically

Preliminary result: NA-8— Independent candidate Mubarak Zeb (20,332), Sunni Ittehad Council’s Gul Zafar Khan (11,197)

Preliminary result: NA- 44 — Sunni Ittehad Council’s Faisal Amin Khan (26,602), PPP’s Abdulrashid Khan Kundi (8,255)

Complete result: NA-119 — PML-N’s Ali Pervaiz won NA seat with 60,918 votes

Preliminary results: NA- 132 — PML-N’s Malik Rasheed Ahmad Khan (38,570), Sunni Ittehad Council’s Sardar Muhammad Hussain Dogar (17,380)

Complete result: NA-196 — PPP’s Khursheed Ahmed Junejo won by-polls with 88,850 votes.

Preliminary result: PP-22 — PML-N’s Falak Sher Awan (49,840), Sunni Ittehad Council’s Nisar Ahmed (40,830)

Complete result: PP-32 — PML-Q’s Moosa Elahi beats PTI backed-SIC candidate Chaudhry Pervaiz Elahi after securing 63,536 votes

Preliminary result: PP-36 — PML-N’s Adnan Afzal Chattha (50071), Sunni Ittehad Council’s Muhammad Fayyaz Chattha (16,610)

Complete result: PP-54 — PML-N’s Ahmad Iqbal Chaudhary won by-polls with 60,351 votes.

Complete result: PP-93 — PML-N’s Saeed Akbar Khan Nawani clinched PA seat after securing 63,021 votes

Complete result: PP-139 — PML-N’s Rana Afzaal Hussain emerged victorious after bagging 46,585 votes

Preliminary result: PP-147— PML-N’s Muhammad Malik Riaz (12,684), independent candidate Muhammad Khan Madni (4595)

Complete result: PP-149: Istehkam-e-Pakistan Party’s Muhammad Shoaib Saddiqui won by-polls with 38,537 votes

Complete result: PP-158 — PML-N’s Chaudhary Muhammad Nawaz emerged victorious after bagging 39,946 votes

Complete result: PP-164: PML-N’s Muhammad Rashid Minhas won PA seat after securing 31,499 votes

Preliminary result: PP-266 — PPP's Mumtaz Ali (12,206) PML-N’s Muhammad Safdar Khan Leghari (6,234)

Preliminary result: PP-290 — PML-N’s Ali Ahmad Khan Leghari (51,437), independent candidate Sardar Muhammad Mohiudin Khan Khosa (14,708)

Complete result: PB-20 — Balochistan National Party’s Mir Jahanzaib Mengal emerged victorious in by-polls after bagging 7,140 votes

Complete result: PB-22 — PML-N’s Muhammad Zarain Khan Magsi won by elections by securing 38,199 votes

Preliminary result: PK-22 — Independent candidate Mubarak Zeb (4021), Jamat-e-Islami’s Abid Khan (1,906)

Preliminary result:PK-91 — Sunni Ittehad Council’s Daud Shah (21,467), independent candidate Imtiaz Shahid (12,547)