T20I series: New Zealand squad reaches Pakistan

Five-match series set to kick off on April 18 in Rawalpindi, Lahore to also host two matches

By Sports Desk
April 14, 2024
Members of the New Zealand cricket team squad pictured in Islamabad after their arrival on April 14, 2024. — X/TheRealPCB

With Pakistan set to host New Zealand, the visitors reached Islamabad on Sunday to take part in the five-match T20I series against the national side.

The series will see the Babar Azam-led Green Shirts' taking onMichael Bracewell's men from April 18 to April 27. The Black Caps' tour will provide much important exposure to both teams and is likely to boost their preparations for the T20 World Cup 2024 slated for June this year.


Three of the five matches will be played in Rawalpindi, while the rest of the two games will be played in Lahore.

On April 9, the board announced the much-awaited Babar-Azam-led 17-member squad for the T20I series with pacer Mohammad Amir and all-rounder Imad Wasim making a comeback into the national side

The series will also likely see Usman Khan and Muhammad Irfan Khan making their debut for the Green Shirts owing to their impressive performances in the recently concluded ninth edition of the Pakistan Super League (PSL 9).

Match fixtures

18 April – 1st T20I, Rawalpindi

20 April – 2nd T20I, Rawalpindi

21 April – 3rd T20I, Rawalpindi

25 April – 4th T20I, Lahore

27 April – 5th T20I, Lahore

Squads for T20 2024

Pakistan: Babar Azam (c), Abrar Ahmed, Azam Khan, Fakhar Zaman, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Abbas Afridi, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Amir, Irfan Niazi, Naseem Shah, Saim Ayub, Shadab Khan, Shaheen Afridi, Usman Khan, Zaman Khan, Usama Mir.

New Zealand: Michael Bracewell (c), Tom Blundell, Mark Chapman, Josh Clarkson, Jacob Duffy, Dean Foxcroft, Ben Lister, Cole McConchie, Zack Fowlkes, Jimmy Neesham, Will O'Rourke, Tim Robinson, Ben Sears, Tim Seifert, Ish Sodhi.