Fakhar hits ton as KP win Pakistan Cup

May 02,2016

Share Next Story >>>

KARACHI: Fakhar Zaman slammed a spectacular century to help Khyber Pakhtunkhwa demolish Punjab by 151 runs in the final of Pakistan Cup 2016 at Iqbal Stadium, Faisalabad, on Sunday.

In the day-night decider, Fakhar (115) and Ahmed Shehzad (62) gave a rapid start to enable KP to pile up 311-9 in the allotted 50 overs.

Spinners Yasir Shah (3-26) and Zohaib Khan (3-23) then bowled superbly to dismiss Punjab for 160 in 36.1 overs.

KP had also lifted the Pentangular Cup in January 2015 when they defeated Balochistan by six wickets in the final under the captaincy of Junaid Khan in Karachi.

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) this season named this event as Pakistan Cup by making some changes.

Younis Khan won a vital toss and quite rightly elected to bat first on a pitch that was full of runs.

In-form openers Shehzad (62) and Fakhar (115) provided an opening stand of 118 in 15.4 overs.

Left-arm spinner Kashif Bhatti finally broke the partnership when he had Shehzad stumped by Mohammad Rizwan. The decision was given through a referral.

Shehzad, who seemed in elegant touch, smacked two sixes and seven fours in his fiery 45-ball knock.

Shehzad finished the event as the highest scorer with 372 runs, including three fifties and a superb 143.

Younis promoted left-handed all-rounder Zohaib Khan (12) in the batting order but he departed early. Shoaib Malik had Zohaib caught at deep square-leg by Amad Butt when he attempted a slog sweep.

Zohaib, who struggled against Malik, faced 27 deliveries.

Fakhar was held at short mid-on by substitute Asif Ali off Test pacer Ehsan Adil after the Mardan-born player had cracked the fourth century of his career.

Fakhar hit Shoaib for a four towards mid-off to complete his hundred. He struck three huge sixes and 12 fours in his 111-ball feat. He ended the event as the second highest scorer with 297 runs, which included one century and two fifties.

Fakhar added 52 with Younis (49) for the third wicket.

Younis and Fahim Ashraf (31) added 57 for the fourth wicket before Ehsan dismissed the latter to leave KP at 265-4 in 44 overs.

Fahim struck three fours and a six from 37 balls. Musadiq Ahmed (19) used long handle, hitting two fours and one six in his rapid ten-ball knock.

Younis smacked one six from 59 balls before being caught by Shan Masood off Amad as KP lost four wickets off the last 13 balls.

Young all-rounder Amad was the pick of the bowlers with 3-55 in ten overs. Ehsan and Aamer Yamin remained expensive with figures of 2-75 in ten overs and 1-49 in six, respectively.

Punjab had a poor start when left-arm pacer Zia-ul-Haq removed Salman Butt (0) and Aamer (1) in quick succession to leave them at 29-2 in 7.2 overs.

Asad Shafiq (16) also fell early, held excellently by Fakhar at short-cover off the bowling of Fahim. Asad struck three fours from 15 balls.

Left-arm spinner Mohammad Asghar got the prized scalp of Shan Masood (36). Asghar tossed it up, it swung in sharply, Shan went on back-foot to cut it, missed it completely before it crashed the stumps. Shan hit five fours from 40 balls. Punjab were gasping at 55-4 in the 13th over.

Shoaib (24) and Rizwan (22) tried to consolidate the innings, but at 97, Test-leggie Yasir Shah had the Punjab captain caught by Fahim in the deep. Malik smashed one six and two fours from 26 deliveries.

Left-arm spinner Zohaib dislodged Rizwan and Amad (0) in his first over to leave Punjab tottering at 107-7 in the 23rd over.

Fahim took his third catch when he held Rizwan at point after the international stumper had smacked two fours from 33 balls. Yasir removed Saif Badar (10).

Zulfiqar Babar (29) and Kashif Bhatti (15) extended KP’s wait for celebration as they added 36 for the ninth wicket before Zohaib sent back the former, trapped lbw.

Zulfiqar struck two sixes and one four from 32 balls. Yasir completed the rout when he had Ehsan (5) to fold Punjab.

Zia-ul-Haq got 2-25 in eight overs.

The winners KP received Rs2 million and a glittering trophy, while the runners-up received Rs1 million and runners-up trophy.

Besides, Rs100,000 each was handed over to the best all-rounder Zohaib Khan (176 runs, 11 wickets), man of the match Fakhar Zaman, best batsman Ahmed Shehzad (372 runs), best bowlers Mohammad Amir (Sindh) and Zohaib Khan (11 wickets each).

KP had brought in Younis Khan and Musadiq Ahmed by dropping Adil Amin and Israrullah. Punjab did not make any change.

Ahsan Reza and Shozab Reza supervised the match. Asif Yaqoob acted as television umpire, Khalid Mehmood as reserve umpire and Musaddiq Rasool as match referee.

Score Board

Khyber Pakhtunkhwa won toss

Khyber Pakhtunkhwa

Ahmed Shehzad st Rizwan b Kashif 62

Fakhar Zaman c sub (Asif) b Ehsan 115

Zohaib Khan c Amad b Shoaib 12

*Younis Khan c Shan b Amad 49

Fahim Ashraf lbw b Ehsan 31

Musadiq Ahmed c Amad b Aamer 19

†Bismillah Khan c Saif b Amad 5

Yasir Shah b Amad 4

Sameen Gul run out 0

M Asghar not out 4

Extras (lb 3, w 6, nb 1) 10

Total (9 wickets; 50 overs) 311

Did not bat: Zia-ul-Haq

Fall: 1-118, 2-156, 3-208, 4-265, 5-288, 6-298, 7-305, 8-305, 9-311

Bowling: Aamer 6-0-49-1 (1w); Ehsan 10-0-75-2 (1nb, 1w); Zulfiqar 10-0-63-0 (1w); Amad 10-0-55-3 (1w); Kashif 6-0-32-1 (1w); Shoaib 8-0-34-1 (1w)


Shan Masood b Asghar 36

Salman Butt lbw b Zia 0

Aamer Yamin c Yasir b Zia 1

Asad Shafiq c Fakhar b Fahim 16

*Shoaib Malik c Fahim b Yasir 24

†M Rizwan c Fahim b Zohaib 22

Saif Badar c Younis b Yasir 10

Amad Butt c & b Zohaib Khan 0

Zulfiqar Babar lbw b Zohaib 29

Kashif Bhatti not out 15

Ehsan Adil c Ahmed b Yasir 5

Extras (w 2) 2

Total (all out; 36.1 overs) 160

Fall: 1-5, 2-29, 3-53, 4-55, 5-97, 6-107, 7-107, 8-119, 9-155, 10-160

Bowling: Sameen 5-0-31-0 (1w); Zia 8-2-25-2 (1w); Asghar 8-0-45-1; Fahim 2-0-10-1; Yasir 8.1-0-26-3; Zohaib 5-0-23-3

Result: Khyber Pakhtunkhwa won by 151 runs

Series: Khyber Pakhtunkhwa won the 2016 Pakistan Cup

Man of the Match: Fakhar Zaman (Khyber Pakhtunkhwa)

Umpires: Ahsan Raza and Shozab Raza. TV umpire: Asif Yaqoob. Match referee: Mussadaq Rasool


More From Sports