NA-15 Mansehra: RO confirms PTI candidate’s victory

NA-15 encompasses rural areas of Mansehra and the neighboring Torghar district

By Our Correspondent
March 01, 2024
This image shows PTI party workers during a rally in KP on December 1, 2023. — Facebook/PTI Khyber Pakhtunkhwa

MANSEHRA: Returning Officer for NA-15, Zakir Hussain Jadoon, confirmed the victory of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf-backed Shahzada Gustasap Khan on Thursday by formally issuing the Form-49.


“The victory belongs not only to me but also to the people, workers and leadership of PTI,” he told media persons after receiving the reconsolidated results.

Following a decision by a two-member bench of the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP), which dismissed a petition filed by the losing candidate Nawaz Sharif on Wednesday, Jadoon was instructed to issue the consolidated results (Form 49) for NA-15. According to the consolidated results, Shahzada Gustasap Khan secured 105,259 votes, while his closest rival, PMLN leader Nawaz Sharif, received 80,413 votes. Mufti Kifayatullah, the nominee of Jamiat Ulema-i-Islam-F, obtained 29,938 votes and Pakistan Peoples Party candidate Zargul Khan received 5,443 votes.

The NA-15 encompasses rural areas of Mansehra and the neighboring Torghar district. The constituency has a total of 645,049 registered voters, with 247,660 votes cast. Out of these, 9,104 votes were rejected.

Following the announcement of the consolidated results, Shahzada Gustasap Khan and his supporters celebrated at the RO office, distributing sweets and showering him with petals.

Addressing the jubilant crowd, Gustasap described the election process as a challenge. He said that every vote was counted in the reconsolidation process, which again proved his victory.