Rawalpindi remain unbeaten in National T20 Super 8

By Our Correspondent
December 04, 2023

KARACHI: Rawalpindi continued rich form as they won their third consecutive National T20 Cup Super-Eight match against Sialkot, while Abbottabad outclassed FATA during the different matches at various grounds here on Sunday.

In the match at the UBL Sports Complex, Rawalpindi defeated Sialkot by three wickets as once again the opener Yasir Khan having scored a century the previous match laced 87 not out.

After being put into bat, Sialkot were brought under pressure being reduced to 10-2, as Ashir Mehmood and skipper Sohaib Malik forged a brilliant 153-run third wicket partnership. Ashir, scored 72 runs in 52 balls with four fours and sixes, while Malik smashed 84 off 56 balls with six fours and four sixes.

Players of Rawalpindi celebrate during the National T20 match seriesat the UBL Sports Complex on December 3, 2023. ā€” X/TheRealPCB_Live

For Pindi, Kashif Ali and Awais Anwer picked up a wicket each. In reply, the Sialkot bowlers also looked good as they removed the opener Faseeh with just six runs on the board. Yasir yet again stood for his team who kept the run-chase intact as Sialkot bowlers managed to take wickets at regular intervals.

Yasir not only rotated the strike regularly, but also took the aggressive mode. In the 52-ball knock, he smashed four fours and seven sixes to help Pindi chase down the target in 18.4 overs.

Mohammad Ali, Bilal, Shoaib Malik, Akhter picked one wicket a piece for Sialkot, while Sohaibullah picked two.

In the other one-sided match at the NBP Sports Comples, Abbottabad outclassed FATA by 57 runs as the all-rounder Shadab Khan recorded a five-wicket spell and also scored 22 runs with the bat.