Tue, Dec 01, 2015, Safar 18, 1437 A.H | Last updated 1 hour ago
Hot Topics
You are here: Home > News > National

14th elected National Assembly's inaugural session today

- June 01, 2013 - Updated 035 PKT - From Web Edition

ISLAMABAD: The newly elected legislators will take oath today (Saturday, June 1, 2013) as the 14th National Assembly meets for the first time marking the beginning of new parliamentary year.


In a unique turn of events in the history of the country a smooth transition of power has taken place for the first time by a civilian government.


The 13th National Assembly (2008-13) had completed its five years term that too for the first time in the democratic history of Pakistan.


The outgoing Speaker, Dr Fehmida Mirza, will administer the oath to the MNAs-elect.


President of Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N), Nawaz Sharif, who is setting set foot in the National Assembly after 14 years, will be sworn in as Prime Minister on Wednesday (June 5, 2013).


The Speaker, Deputy Speaker of the lower house are scheduled to take oath on Monday (June 3, 2013).


Special cards have been issued to high-level civil and military officials, diplomats, and important personalities to witness the maiden session of National Assembly.


The security staff of the Parliament would be present at the gates of the parliament to receive the newly elected MNAs after the identification, while elaborate security measures has been ensured within the building of Parliament.


The National Assembly hall has been refurbished for the newly elected members of Lower House. The MNAs elect have been allotted seats as per Urdu alphabetical order. Parliamentary leaders have been allotted seats in front rows.


The total strength of the august House is 342 where 272 are filled with direct elections, while 60 seats are reserved for women and 10 for the religious minorities.


The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) has so far announced the results of 322 constituencies. The results for the rest of the constituencies were delayed due to various reasons.


According to ECP, the result of NA-269 is still awaited. The results of NA-83 and NA-254 were terminated. The result of NA-38 was postponed. While the results of NA-103 and NA-237 are yet withheld on account of reasons better known to ECP. Moreover, the ECP has ordered reelection at some polling stations of NA-46 and NA-229.


According to ECP, PML-N has a comfortable majority with 176 seats, followed by erstwhile ruling Pakistan Peoples Party securing a meager 39 and Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaaf swept 35 seats to emerge as the third largest party in the parliament.


On the other hand Mutahidda Quomi Movement won 23 seats, Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam- Fazl (JUI-F) 14, Pakistan Muslim League Functional (PML-F) got six seats. Whereas Pakhtunkhaw Milli Awami Party (PMAP) and Jamat e Islami (JI) have four seats each. National Peoples Party (NPP) has bagged three seats.


It must be mentioned here that the NPP has already merged with the PML-N.


Pakistan Muslim League Quaid-e-Azam (PML-Q) could get just two seats.


Eight political parties including Awami National Party (ANP), Balochistan National Party (BNP), Quomi Watan Party Sherpao (QWP-S), Pakistan Muslim League-Zia (PML-Z), National Party (NP), Awami Muslim League Pakistan (AMLP), Awami Jamhori Ittehad Pakistan (AJIP) and All Pakistan Muslim League (APML) have one seat each. This time around independents secured eight seats to reach the parliament.

Reader Comments
Congratulation for all newly legislators who take oath

Muhammad Afraz Abbasi
 Post Your Comments  (1)
If you are facing problem in submitting your comments, please click here to report your problem.