Sun, Nov 29, 2015, Safar 16, 1437 A.H | Last updated 13 hours ago
Hot Topics
You are here: Home > Today's Paper > Peshawar
- Monday, May 13, 2013 - From Print Edition


SWABI: The Awami Jamhoori Ittehad Pakistan (AJIP) and Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) have emerged as strong parties and both won six out of eight seats of the national and provincial assemblies’ seats in the district.


The AJIP candidates contested elections from all eight constituencies in the district. Among them Usman Khan Tarakai, former district nazim Shahram Khan Tarakai’s uncle who had defeated the ANP’s president Asfandyar Wali Khan in 2008 elections, has retained his seat, defeating the ANP candidate Rehmanullah Khan. Muhammad Ali Tarakai, another uncle of Shahram, defeated the ANP candidate Muhammad Ishfaq Khan and won PK-33, Swabi-III seat.


Former district nazim Shahram Tarakai won the PK-32, Swabi-II, giving an ignominious defeat to the former MPA Ameer Rehman, son of Rehmanullah. Babar Khan, son of Swabi Qaumi Mahaz founder late Dr Muhammad Saleem grabbed PK-31, Swabi-1 seat. He defeated the ANP candidate Gul Zamin Shah.


The second strong party emerged in the district is PTI where its provincial president Asad Qaiser won NA-13, Swabi-11 and PK-35 Swabi-V.The Qaumi Watan Party (QWP) and PML-N got one each seat of the provincial assembly. It was the first time for both the parties to won from the district. Abdul Karim Khan, son of the former provincial minister late Abdur Raziq Khan won from the PK-34, Swabi-IV, defeating the ANP candidate Eng Amjad Khan.